Making the last few changes to the trailer!

After the feeback I recieved from my target audience I found that I needed to make a few more changes to my trailer. The things I needed to do was:

– build suspense by cutting scenes

– change sound track

-film scenes that hint girl dying

I drafted a new storyboard which will show that the girl has been killed.

[Click on image to enlarge]

harmfulq

Screen shot 2013-03-21 at 12.08.20

Here is the shot of the anti-hero sat in the back of the car about to strangle the victim. I cut the clip to a size of 0:00:19 of a second, making the clip this quick makes the audience panic for the victim.

Screen shot 2013-03-21 at 12.11.32

This a close up shot of the laptop and computer cable, this is the murder weapon and using a close up shot put emphasis on this object. I cut the clip to 0:54: 02 of a second which is another short clip which creates suspense as well as building up tension for something bad to happen.

Screen shot 2013-03-21 at 12.18.17

This is a close up shot of the victims hand, here you can see the phone about to slide out of her hand, this makes the audience aware that the girl has been killed. The close up shot emphasises the phone in which we saw in a previous shot where the victim was talking to her mum on the phone in which she said “I’ll be right back” – another horror convention. Emphasis of the phone also reinforces the theme of technology throughout the film. I also added a sound effect to this scene which is the sound of a phone ringing, click here to listen to the sound effect >> RINGTONE

Screen shot 2013-03-21 at 12.25.11

I imported this file into iMovie and copied the file so the sound effect plays 3 times, this phone reminds me of the phone that is constantly rings in the Audition trailer which was analysed in my research and planning > Audition trailer analysis

Screen shot 2013-03-21 at 12.37.48

This is the close up shot of the victim dead in the car, I cut this clip to 0:54:02 of a second, this makes the clip short which creates suspense and panic in the audience.

After making the final cuts to the trailer I began searching for new sound tracks, I intended to find a sound effect that represented technology and gaming which would relect the narrative of my trailer. I researched existing game sound tracks to find out what kind of sound I would be looking for.

This Youtube clip is an example of the music used in games, it sounds very techo, it starts off slow and builds pace throughout, this is the kind of sound I need for my trailer as the villain believes he is in the game.

I visited incompetech.com and searched the genre ‘modern’.

One sound track I liked the sound of was ‘Vanes’, click here to listen >>> Vanes

vanes

This sound effect is suitable for the narrative of my trailer and it includes electric sounds which represent the computer based storyline. Although this is a good sound effect I now intend to find another sound that is father in terms of the speed which will build the suspense within the trailer.

I the searched for another sound effect under the genre of ‘electronic’. I found a good sound effect called ‘harmful and fatal’, click here to listen to the sound effect >>>

harmful

I then added these sound effects to the trailer by importing them into iMovie.

Screen shot 2013-03-21 at 12.41.53

Here I added the sound called Vanes into iMovie, rather than starting the sound right at the beginning I imported the sound 07:24 seconds into the trailer which is when the ‘villains’ face appears , starting the music here brings the audience from the reality of the natural shots at the beginning to the eerie shots that coming up, the music helps to build suspense and creates an eerie atmosphere.

Screen shot 2013-03-21 at 12.46.18

I imported the sound clip, ‘harmful and fatal’ which is a faster clip, I inserted this sound as the victim walks out the door, by speeding up the sound increases the suspense which foreshadows that something bad is going to happen. As you can see I increased the volume levels so the sound gets louder throughout  which again builds suspense. I increased the sound to the maximum at the point where the antihero strangles the victim, this again creates dramatic tension. I then dropped the volume so that the quick music fades out which brings the audience to the climax that the girl has been killed, the music is then followed by the ringtone which rings 3 times, this quite haunting which aims to fear the audience.

Making final cuts to the trailer

Screen shot 2013-03-21 at 13.16.37

This is a low shot of the ‘villain’ at the top of the stairs, all you can see is his silouhette due to the dark lighting, this is an example of an enigma code which makes the clip mysterious, to build suspense I cut this clip to 0:00:05 of a second, this makes the clip an example of a subliminal flash which is referenced in Insidious where there is a silouette of a boy nobody notices, this can be seen at 38 seconds in this video clip:

A subliminal flash has also been used in The Exorcist:

The sublimal flash can be found in part of the 22nd second:

Screen shot 2013-03-21 at 13.37.31

These subliminal flashes are examples of subliminal messages which are messages that only your subconscious mind notices, this is also known as a hidden message.

Screen shot 2013-03-21 at 13.45.41

Other changes I made to the trailer was cutting two of the title frames, I also cut the Level 4 title frame in length to create suspense and make the trailer faster in pace.

Screen shot 2013-03-21 at 13.48.35

I also removed the sound at the beginning of the trailer so the audience could hear the sound of the ‘villain’ typing, this was significant to my trailer as the narrative is based on the concept of computer games.

I also re-ordered several clips so that the trailer made more sense in terms of the narrative. For example, in my previous edit the clip of the victim sleeping was at the end of the trailer however now I have moved it towards the beginning:

Screen shot 2013-03-21 at 13.58.43

This scene involves the girl waking up scared in her sleep, having her scared right at the beginning of the trailer creates fear from the very beginning.

Leave a Reply

