Adding sound effects

I visited incometech.com for royalty free MP3 downloads, here I found many music files listed under the horror genre. I downloaded 4 that I thought would be suitable for my trailer.

I intended to use these files as non-diagetic sound in my horror trailer.

bump

Bump in the Night <click here to listen to the sound effect!

bentandbroken

Bent and Broken < Click here to listen to the sound effect!

rightbehindyou

Right Behind You <click here to listen to the sound effect!

Paranoia (Theme) <click here to listen to the sound effect!

Here I imported the mp3 file 'Bump in the Night' as the dominating theme tune that would be heard throughout the trailer.

Here I added the sound track ‘Bump in the Night’ to be the sounds that runs throughout the trailer.

I also added the mp3 file 'right behind you to the trailer, however I placed it after ---seconds so that it comes in gradually after bump in the night. I also added my own voice recording which features a few seconds after.

I also added the mp3 file ‘right behind you to the trailer, however I placed it after —seconds so that it comes in gradually after bump in the night. I also added my own voice recording which features a few seconds after. This sound effect is eerie, it connotes evil and has a dark feel to it, this would work well for the horror genre.

After experimenting with the voice sounds I recorded earlier I decided not to use them as I thought the trailer would be more effective with the sound of the victims voice who says, ‘It’s just a game’, I placed this sound effect during the scene where the ‘villain’ in breaking into the house, this is 53 seconds into the trailer. Click here to listen to the sound effect >> “It’s just a game” this sound effective is effective as the audience hear the victims voice, the dramatic irony here is that this isn’t just a game, this foreshadows the victim’s death.

Leave a Reply

