Editing voice recordings

After I had recorded the sounds on my mobile app I imported them into Audacity and edited them, adding effects which I thought would be effective in my trailer.

Sound 1: “Shall we play a game?”

Screen shot 2013-02-06 at 13.50.54

First I important the sound file into audacity and began to add effects to the sound file, I began experimenting with different effects as I had not used the software before. I used the AuDistortion effect which made the voice sound more robotic as if it were the voiceover from a game.

Screen shot 2013-02-06 at 13.52.47

I changed this distotion to 3 to make it deeper.

Screen shot 2013-02-06 at 13.56.50

Screen shot 2013-02-06 at 14.01.07

Screen shot 2013-02-06 at 14.03.24

Screen shot 2013-02-06 at 14.04.08

After experiementing immensely with different sound effects on audacity I was finally happy with the sound file I had created.

Shall we play a game? – edited version < Click here to listen to the edited version!

Screen shot 2013-02-06 at 14.14.31

After editing the file I added it to the storyboard and placed it in line with the frame which says “Shall we play a game?”. In the end I decided not to use this sound clip as I thought that it didn’t sound right and I also found it difficult to make the speed of the voice match the speed of the title frame therefore I removed it.

I used the same method to edit the remaining clips.

“Level 1” – edited version < Click here to listen to the edited version!

For the voice of the victim I edited the mp3 file in a more subtle way, I simply amplified the sound on audacity rather than adding effects: ITS JUST A GAME < Click here to listen to the voice recording.

Leave a Reply

